A.O.

While I’ve mentioned a number of great basic pieces on this site, in terms of t-shirts I’d have to say my all time favorite is the A.O. crewneck tee. A.O. is a tiny Swedish operation speciliazing in a limited selection of basic pieces like t-shirts, henleys and underwear. Sadly, I’ve only had the chance to try the t-shirt but I’d imagine the rest of the line carries the same high standard. This shirt ticks all the boxes for me, it has a great length, something that often is a problem for me with my taller than average build. Also, the neck isn’t too tight or constricting. The fit feels right from day one and wears in well and the arms are a good summery length. Some may complain about the arms being a bit short, but for me they’ve always felt just right. I can speak with great experience about the longevity of the shirts too, I’ve had one since 2009 and it’s still going strong while a number of equal costing options have fallen by the wayside. It’s a lighter cotton than some of the options from wings+horns or Reigning Champ so it may be favorable to be worn in warmer weather or as an undershirt. There is however one problem: I’ve yet to find anywhere in North America or Europe that carries them online. So if you manage to find an A.O. outlet, please let me know, until then the best option is emailing them directly from their site.

– CK

Leave a Reply

